Wyalusing Township invites you to enjoy some of Pennsylvania's most scenic vistas. The Wyalusing Rocks offers a spectacular view of the Susquehanna River Valley, featuring rolling farmlands and forests of Terry and Asylum Townships. The Marie Antoinette Overlook is an equally breathtaking panorama of the Susquehanna, including historic French Asylum, the would-be home of Queen Marie Antoinette and her husband, Louis XVI, and site of the historic Laporte House today. The Friedenshutten Monument, located near Rt. 6, marks the site of an early Moravian mission village. Wyalusing Township is a favorite spot for deer hunters. Also, smallmouth bass fishing can be enjoyed in the Wyalusing Creek.
Standing Stone, "Achsin-Nink"
Standing Stone, or "Achsin-Nink," the name given by the Indians to this remarkable stone which stands in the Susquehanna River. From its top to the river bed it measures 44 feet. It is 16 feet wide and four feet thick. Early settlers told of finding covered with Indian drawings. In 1779, General John Sullivan and one-third of the American army marched through Bradford County. He ordered that a shot from the morning gun be fired at the stone. This shot blew off the uppermost corner.
Wilmot Township is named after Bradford Countian David Wilmot whose anti-slavery views were influential in bringing about the 13th Amendment to the Constitution, ending slavery in America. This township is filled with rolling farmlands as well as heavily wooded areas. It is an excellent choice for deer hunters or fishermen, as the Sugar Run Creek is a popular trout fishing spot that is stocked regularly by the PA Fish and Boat Commission.
Herrick Township - A historical perspective originally published in the Bradford Star gives an extensive look back at the early days of Herrick Township